DJANGO DJANGO

NEW SINGLE “KICK THE DEVIL OUT” + MUSIC VIDEO

NEW LP “GLOWING IN THE DARK” OUT NOW ON BECAUSE MUSIC

AUTUMN LIVE DATES ON SALE NOW

Following on from the release of their critically acclaimed new album “Glowing in the Dark” earlier this year, Django Django continue to cast their art pop spell, this time with an irresistible double whammy – a hilarious and subversive video for new single “Kick Out the Devil”, as well as a radical rework of the track by steel pan legend Fimber Bravo.

First – the video. Directed by Jack Barraclough, and reminiscent of gloriously anarchic classics such as “Sabotage” by Beastie Boys and the ‘Bobby Vs Satan’ sketch from 80’s Canadian sketch show Kids in the Hall, it brings the song’s lyrical content to vivid life, with the band’s own Vincent Neff playing a literal devil on a beleaguered family’s shoulder, and causing all kinds of mayhem doing so.

In Barraclough’s words:

As soon as I read the Django’s brief for this I was like, YES! Apart from having to get 50+ shots done in one day this is the kinda thing I love directing and planning out. It was fun to take on the screwball comedy genre and cram lots of details into the video so it rewards repeat viewings, and you can enjoy spotting the continuity errors. Even though it’s a ‘silly’ concept, it is a hard thing to get right and make work – there’s a well established visual language to the genre that we were drawing upon and everyone – the cast and all the crew, did an amazing job pulling this together.

Equally as exciting, Fimber Bravo, the man Loud and Quiet calls a “steel pan wizard” then seizes control of the track, weaving his magic over it to become a gorgeous, joyous new beast entirely, recasting the deliciously shaggy funk of the original into something soaring and triumphant with the help of Susumu Mukai aka Zongamin on synth keyboards, and renowned Senegalese Kadialy Kouyate on Kora.

And finally! Django Django will also be heading out on tour this autumn, bringing “Glowing in the Dark” to audiences for the very first time on a comprehensive string of dates around the UK and Europe. Full dates below.

Date:                                                Location:                                                      

Sat 09 Oct 2021                                Belfast – Limelight
Sun 10 Oct 2021                               Dublin – The Academy
Mon 11 Oct 2021                             Leeds – University
Tue 12 Oct 2021                               Sheffied – The Leadmill
Thu 14 Oct 2021                               Manchester – Manchester Cathedral
Fri 15 Oct 2021                                 Edinburgh – The Liquid Room
Sat 16 Oct 2021                                Glasgow – Queen Margaret Union
Mon 18 Oct 2021                             Liverpool – Invisible Wind Factory
Tue 19 Oct 2021                               Cardiff – The Tramshed
Wed 20 Oct 2021                             Bristol – SWX
Fri 22 Oct 2021                                 London - Exhibition London
Sat 23 Oct 2021                                Brighton – CHALK
Mon 01 Nov 2021                            Brussels – Botanique
Tue 02 Nov 2021                               Tourcoing – Le Grand Mix
Thu 04 Nov 2021                               Paris – Elysee Montmarte
Fri 05 Nov 2021                                 Cologne – Gebaude 9
Sat 06 Nov 2021                                Amsterdam – Paradiso
Mon 08 Nov 2021                             Copenhagen – Vega
Tue 09 Nov 2021                               Hamburg – Knust
Thu 11 Nov 2021                               Berlin – Metropol
Fri 12 Nov 2021                                  Warsaw – Niebo
Sat 13 Nov 2021                                 Prague – Meet Factory
Sun 14 Nov 2021                                Munich – Ampere
Tue 16 Nov 2021                                Milan – Generalli
Wed 17 Nov 2021                              Zurich – Mascotte
Thu 18 Nov 2021                                Lyon – L’Epicerie Moderne

UK tour support from Pictish Tail