“An album that, unquestionably, marks him out as one of the UK’s most promising new producers” 

The Guardian (2008)

“What started out sounding like a simple little home-grown electro record has uncoiled itself over a summer of listens into a multi-layered party playlist that gurgles out anthems without pause.”

9/10 – NME (2008)

 “The joy and longevity emanating throughout is at once jubilant and effortless”  

Drowned In Sound (2008)

“It’s a half-arsed concept album about going out and having a crap time”  

(Joe Mount via Metro, 2008)

Screenshot 2019-02-18 at 11.34.23 

As Metronomy work on their forthcoming sixth album, they take a moment to reflect on the 10th anniversary of their breakthrough album ‘Nights Out’.  Metronomy’s Joseph Mount has delved into the archives for ‘Nights Out: 10th Anniversary Edition’ which will be released on February 8th on Because Music.

It features the original critically acclaimed album alongside a second LP which expands upon Mount’s vision with a set of unreleased demos, rarities and b-sides – many of which make their first appearance on vinyl. Two of the highlights come with alternative versions which have become staples of the Metronomy live set: a bedtime dub version of ‘Holiday’ which takes it into a darker, glitchier direction, and a French-language version of ‘Heartbreaker’.

Mount’s Francophile leanings are also explored in Breakbot’s remix of ‘A Thing For Me’, which contrasts French touch vibes with Mount’s distinctly English-accented vocals.  Previously issued on an exclusive Rough Trade bonus disc, ‘Over’ is an instrumental of cinematic scale, while the disc closes with four previously unreleased demos including the leftfield minimalism of ‘Das Booty’.

Although Metronomy’s 2006’s debut album ‘Pip Paine (Pay The £5000 You Owe)’ was discovered by those in the know, it was ‘Nights Out’ that captured the imagination of a much wider audience. Mount achieved the seemingly impossible: he highlighted both the joyous atmosphere of a big night out and a taste of the resultant comedown in a set that playfully veered towards being a concept album.

About Nights Out Joseph Mount says: “Oscar reminded me the other day how I said to him on completing Radio Ladio ‘I think I’ve just written my first number 1’.  I hadn’t.  We also reminisced about the day we borrowed the Honda Insight for the album artwork: I found the owner on an enthusiasts chat room, we gave his daughter two Kate Nash tickets and a meet and greet with Kate in exchange for a few shots with the vehicle… simpler times.  Shout out to Myspace.”

‘Nights Out: 10th Anniversary Edition’ will be released as a limited edition double gatefold coloured vinyl and on major streaming platforms. It is now available to pre-order from

Fans who pre order / purchase the album from Rough Trade will receive an exclusive Metronomy Mix CD including Joe’s remixes of tracks from Gorillaz, Sebastien Tellier, Roots Manuva and more from 2008.

Metronomy’s most recent album ‘Summer 08’ was released in 2016 to widespread critical acclaim.  DIY described it as a “pure-pop odyssey” and NME concluded, “Mount has done it again. He could write music about the impact of Brexit on the UK’s trade with China and make it sound amazing. He’s that good.”

Metronomy bring 2018 to a close when they play Edinburgh’s Hogmanay Street Party on December 31st. The 65,000 capacity show is headlined by Franz Ferdinand and completed by Free Love.

‘Nights Out: 10th Anniversary Edition’ vinyl tracklisting:

Original album

Side A

  1. ‘Nights Out’
  2. ‘The End Of You Too’
  3. ‘Radio Ladio’
  4. ‘My Heart Rate Rapid’
  5. ‘Heartbreaker’
  6. ‘On The Motorway’

Side B

  1. ‘Side 2’
  2. ‘Holiday’
  3. ‘A Thing For Me’
  4. ‘Back On The Motorway’
  5. ‘On Dancefloors’
  6. ‘Nights Outro’

New ‘10th Anniversary Edition’ disc

Side A

  1. ‘Our Raid’ (‘Holiday’ B-side)
  2. ‘Let’s Have A Party’ (‘Holiday’ 12” B-side)
  3. ‘The Chase’ (Rough Trade bonus disc)
  4. ‘Holiday’ (Bedtime dub) (‘Holiday’ 12” B-side)
  5. ‘Please Me’ (Bonus iTunes album track)
  6. ‘Over’ (Rough Trade bonus disc)

Side B

  1. ‘Matthias Gathering’ (‘My Heart Rate Rapid’ 12” B-side)
  2. ‘Heartbreaker’ (French version)*
  3. ‘A Thing For Me’ (Breakbot remix) (‘A Thing For Me’ 12” remix)
  4. ‘Intro Thing’ (demo)*
  5. ‘Young Americans’ (demo)*
  6. ‘Output’ (demo)*
  7. ‘Das Booty’ (demo)*


* Denotes a previously unreleased track


Official website


Apple Music