Mind Enterprises

‘Idealist’ – February 5th 2016.

Mind Enterprises, aka Andrea Tirone, has announced details of the release of his debut album. Idealist is released on Friday 5th February 2016 on Because Music.

The tracklisting of the 10-track album, which channels both the electronic pulse of Todd Terje and William Onyeabor’s loose-fit West African disco, is as follows:

1.   Idealistic

2.   Chapita

3.   Give Me Light

4.   Lover Boy

5.   Bad Habit

6.   Confusion

7.   Girlfriend

8.   Stamps

9.   Sale Sale

10. Farewell


Originally from Turin, and now based in Clapton east London, Idealist was in part inspired by a chance discovery of some music on a hard drive given to Andrea by Salvatore Principato, singer with seminal New York post-punks Liquid Liquid, after their paths had crossed in 2011 when Principato produced an EP for Andrea’s previous band Did.

“I was looking for something to inspire me,” he remembers. “So I plugged it in and suddenly there were all these amazing sounds.” But the music which caught Andrea’s ear didn’t sound anything like early-80s no wave New York. Instead he found himself hooked on Fever, a vintage garage-funk jam by 70s Kenyan musician Jingo.

“That was the key to start exploring, I started listening to a lot of Afro-funk from Nigeria and Ghana, and after that my way of composing changed drastically.”

Moving to London in 2012 to try and escape the somewhat insular Italian alternative scene he was part of in Turin – “I left Italy because I was a bit stuck there, I couldn’t find the right way to express myself,” – Andrea set up his home studio and set to work.

The first result was the soulful, off-beat electro of 2013’s My Girl EP. But faced with the challenge of following it up with his debut album early the following year, Andrea admits he “got a bit lost”.

Taking his time to fully realize his musical vision, using live instruments rather than just relying on software for sounds, and placing his distinctive falsetto at the heart of the mix, Idealist offers a distinctively fresh, individual twist on the kind of new-wave electronic funk pioneered by Metronomy and LA Priest – It’s music which is intended to make people move.

“I’ve kind of changed my approach to club music,” he admits. “One thing I was thinking while recording the album was that it’s dance music, but on my terms. This is what I would want to hear if I was going out to a gig. Songs, yes. But songs you can dance to. That’s the ultimate goal of this record.”