OLYMPIA

UNVEILS “SHOOT TO FORGET”
NEW SINGLE – WATCH THE STUNNING VIDEO HERE

EUROPEAN TOUR WITH JULIA JACKLIN THIS SPRING

OLYMPIA bursts into 2019, with a stunning new single, an impending world tour with Julia Jacklin, and some big international signing news.

OLY0001_SHOOT TO FORGET_FA

As premiered by Clash Magazine, “Shoot To Forget”, is fresh, light and loose, the sound of a relentlessly original artist coming into her own. This second single from the highly anticipated sophomore record balances Bartley’s force, melody and masterful use of imagery, while also showcasing the rock leanings introduced in lead single ‘Star City’.

WATCH THE VIDEO HERE

The track draws on a range of ideas to explore the notion of cultural amnesia, of moving forward by forgetting led initially through the eyes of a photographer who ‘shoots to forget’. “Shoot to Forget” was co-produced with longtime collaborator Burke Reid (Courtney Barnett, DZ Deathrays, DMAs).

2019 is lining up to be a huge year for the artist, following on from the highly acclaimed album Self Talk, and arresting live show across Australia and the UK, Olympia is announcing signing with UK label Opposite Number Records (Lowtide, H.Grimace), Coda Agency, UK (Billie Eilish, Maggie Rogers) and Paradigm Agency, US/CA (Coldplay, Flume).

The captivating music video directed by Leilani Croucher contains elaborately staged characters that look like film stills from a long-lost noir film. Use of multiple characters create oblique fictional narratives that create intrigue. It’s left to the viewer to assemble the bigger picture from the various references – cinematic and photographic, as the multiple characters play with the boundaries of personality.

The Julia Jacklin tour featuring Olympia as main support sees an incredibly strong lineup up of two songwriters that have deep respect for each other, travel to Sydney, Melbourne, London, Paris, Amsterdam, Brussels, Berlin, amongst other locations. Olympia will debut new tracks off the upcoming record, alongside revisiting old favourites from debut Self Talk.

Olympia made a huge impression with 2016’s accomplished debut, Self Talk, an album which was nominated for an ARIA award, shortlisted in the Australian Music Prize and selected as Triple J feature album. “Shoot To Forget” is a powerful statement of what we can look forward to from this intriguing artist in the year ahead.

SHOOT TO FORGET

Producer: Burke Reid & Olivia Bartley

Photographer: Jeff Andersen Jnr

Graphic Design: Christopher Doyle

 

JULIA JACKLIN ‘CRUSHING’ ALBUM TOUR

WITH SPECIAL GUEST OLYMPIA

Tickets available from www.olympiamusic.com.au

 

AUSTRALIAN TOUR DATES

Tue, Mar 05 | UOW UniBar | Wollongong, NSW

Wed, Mar 06 | ANU Bar & Refectory | Canberra, ACT

Sat, Mar 09 | The Triffid | Brisbane, QLD

Thu, Mar 14 | The Forum | Melbourne, VIC

Fri, Mar 15 | The Metro Theatre | Sydney, NSW

Sat, Mar 16 | Cambridge Hotel | Newcastle, NSW

UK/EU TOUR DATES

Tue, Mar 26 | The Haunt | Brighton, UK

Wed, Mar 27 | The Fleece | Bristol, UK

Thu, Mar 28 | The Castle & Falcon | Birmingham, UK

Fri, Mar 29 | Yes | Manchester, UK

Sat, Mar 30 | Whelan’s | Dublin, Ireland

Tue, Apr 2 | Stereo | Glasgow, UK

Wed, Apr 3 | Belgrave Music Hall & Canteen | Leeds, UK

Thu, Apr 4 | Electric Brixton | London, UK

Fri, Apr 5 | Les Etoiles | Paris, France

Mon, Apr 8 | AB Club | Brussels, Belgium

Tue, Apr 9 | THT/Paradiso Noord | Amsterdam, Netherlands

Wed, Apr 10 | Blue Shell | Cologne, Germany

Thu, Apr 11 | Molotow Musikclub | Hamburg, Germany

Fri, Apr 12 | Vega | Copenhagen, Denmark

Mon, Apr 15 | Privatclub | Berlin, Germany

Tue, Apr 16 | Milla | Munich, Germany

Wed, Apr 17 | Bogen F | Zürich, Switzerland

 

Label: Opposite Number and EMI Music Australia

Publishing: Universal Music Publishing

 

FOR MORE INFORMATION

Instagram

Facebook

Youtube

www.olympiamusic.com.au

or please contact: thom@sonicpr.co.uk

image007