Glasgow’s THE NINTH WAVE today release new track “Hard Not To Hold You“, the final taster of the band’s second album Heavy Like A Headache, out 18th March 2022 via Distiller Records.

The band have also announced that following the release of Heavy Like A Headache and their 3 upcoming headline dates in Manchester, London and Glasgow the four-piece will be going on hiatus to pursue their own personal projects.

Accompanying the new single release, the band say: “How heavy do you let your head ache before you let yourself break? Songs for scraping under the surface, for starting again, songs for leaving. Elaborating our fragility into intensity – expanding beyond our infancy.”

Making a statement about their future plans, The Ninth Wave say:

Hello! We are so so so excited to release our second album. We love it a lot and we hope you do too. We poured a lot of love, effort and emotion into it and we couldn’t be prouder of the end result. It’s our strongest body of songs without a doubt. Hope you’re ready for it!

On a sad but also happy note, we’ve decided that after this album is out and after the three celebration gigs in March, we’re gonna take an extended break from The Ninth Wave. That means these gigs in March will be our last as a band for a long time (maybe ever!).

We are all still best of pals and love what we have created together. However, we’ve been going full pelt for the last six years and we feel like it’s time to give the band a breather. We also all have other projects that we’re keen to explore and taking a breather from the band will give us all the opportunity to do that. The Ninth Wave has given us some of the best times and we’ve met some of the loveliest people we’ve known throughout it all.

So, these gigs in March are going to be extremely fucking special celebrations. There’ll be laugh, tears, cuddles, dancing, the whole bloody lot. We’re going to be playing a bunch of songs from the new album, as well as a load of the family favourites and GrEaTeSt HiTz. You absolutely CANNOT miss out, imagine the regret oh my god!!! The tour that we did at the end of 2021 reminded us of how much we fucking love playing live and seeing every one of you going for it and feeling the same feelings as us is something special.

Love to you all and we hope you love Heavy Like a Headache as much as we do. See you in March for one last dance.

Haydn, Millie, Kyalo and Calum


Dates for the band’s final shows are as follows:




16 MARCH – Manchester, YES Pink Room

17 MARCH – London, Oslo

19 MARCH – Glasgow, SWG3


Tickets are on sale now, here: 



The Ninth Wave‘s upcoming second album Heavy Like A Headache arrives off the back of a sold-out UK tour toward the end of 2021 and Scottish Album Of The Year nominations for their Faris Badwan (The Horrors)-produced EP ‘Happy Days!’ and their critically acclaimed 2019 debut full-length Infancy.

Produced by the band themselves and mixed by Max Heyes (Massive Attack, Doves, Primal Scream), Heavy Like A Headache explores feelings of grief, anxiety, anger and loneliness, and represents the 4-piece’s most triumphant and diverse body of work to date. Celebrating honesty and real life, The Ninth Wave want their listeners to find comfort in their music. They want their fans to feel safe; to be confident in who they are, and to know they’re not alone.

If there’s one thing that stands out more than anything in the new album though, it’s The Ninth Wave’s refusal to be pigeonholed. The band have been labelled many things in their time – post-punk, electro-pop, indie – but what really drives them is a desire to break free from these loose categorisations altogether.

Constantly developing and pushing their sound into exciting new territory, sonically The Ninth Wave are challenging expectations and preconceptions of the their music with their second album. Leaning toward influence from contemporaries such as Yves Tumor, Savages, Eartheater, Kelly Lee Owens and Young Fathers – the quartet assuredly retain their own distinct songwriting craft and approach.

“It’s a cathartic thing for both us and the listeners; we want to help with normalising being emotional and finding comfort within your sadness”, the band went on to say.

The Ninth Wave are widely praised across the board from The Guardian to Wonderland Magazine, NME, Dork Magazine, DIY Magazine and more – with radio support from BBC Radio 1 (Jack Saunders, Huw Stephens, Phil Taggart and Abbie McCarthy), BBC 6 Music (Steve Lamacq), and Radio X (John Kennedy).

Elsewhere the band’s music has been remixed by The Horrors, Dream Wife, The Twilight Sad, Mogwai, Low Spirits and Working Mens Club, along with tours and shows with CHVRCHES, Yonaka, Editors, Pussy Riot, Franz Ferdinand, Suede, The Magic Gang and The Blinders.

The Ninth Wave are: Haydn Park-Patterson (guitar, vocals), Millie Kidd (bass, vocals), Kyalo Searle-Mbullu (keys) and Calum Stewart (drums).

New single “Hard Not To Hold You” is out now. The Ninth Wave’s new album Heavy Like A Headache is out 18th March 2022 via Distiller Records.






Heavy Like A HeadacheTrack list


1. Intro

2. Maybe You Didn’t Know

3. Heron On The Water

4. Interlude

5. Hard Not To Hold You

6. These Depopulate Hours

7. The Morning Room

8. Everything Will Be Fine

9. These Depopulate Hours (Reprise)

10. What Makes You a Man

11. Piece and Pound Coins

12. Heavy Like a Headache

13. Pivotal

14. Some

15. Song for Leaving







Facebook: TheNinthWaveOfficial


Or please contact:






“Dreamy-yet-industrial…steering boldly back into their glassy, opulent dancefloor fillers”

DIY Magazine


“The most undeniably alive thing we’ve heard”

The Guardian


“Sharp percussion, melancholic keys, haunting vocals”



“Genre bending, shape-shifting experimental pop”

The i Paper


“Massive vocal performances, enormous synths and a chorus that will bring the roof down when it’s played live…huge.”



“They are so emotive, so powerful in what they do – they might as well be my heroes to be honest with you, I love what they do”

BBC Radio 1 / Jack Saunders