**** The Guardian / **** NME

“…say hello to Yeasayer’s best work to date” 8.5/10 – The Line Of Best Fit

“the trio have triumphed” – Metro

‘’a brilliant, breathless, great big bundle of weird.”  DIY

“a band at their delirious and playful best” – Clash Music

Today Yeasayer share a behind-the-scenes documentary, filmed during the creation of the cover art for their fourth studio album, ‘Amen & Goodbye’, available now through Mute. The gatefold album artwork, featuring a tableau of sculptures, actors and digital images, was created by the renowned artist David Altmejd – who narrated the behind the scenes documentary. Moloch, an ancient god of child sacrifice, a silent movie starlet, a breastfeeding mother, characters from the band’s songs past and present, and various other pop-culture and religious characters all take the stage for the cover art. “It’s Sgt Pepper meets Hieronymous Bosch meets Dali meets PeeWee’s Playhouse” say Yeasayer.

Altmejd, whose work is a major influence on the band, said the following about their collaboration: “I decided to offer them a sort of landscape filled with as many details as possible.  I thought about a series of objects that would be inspired by characters that came from Yeasayer’s albums… but also characters that come from the news.  There’s really fake looking sculptures, there’s printouts representing cartoony characters, there’s naked people… For me what’s very important is that the image offers enough visually for people to be really absorbed in the observation of details.”


‘Amen & Goodbye’ is the follow-up to 2012’s ‘Fragrant World’. Moving away from a digital-heavy approach, Yeasayer recorded ‘Amen & Goodbye’ to tape at Outlier Inn Studio in upstate New York, then brought on board Joey Waronker (drummer – Atoms For Peace / Beck) to deconstruct everything in order to make the final document.

The finished album has, as a loose concept, an underlying narrative informed by religion and transcendence, the afterlife and the search for meaning, and the songs stream together like a collection of strange fables from the Bible of some universe that does not yet exist. ‘Amen & Goodbye’ features Yeasayer’s trademark sound without sounding like anything the band has done before.

Watch the video for ‘I Am Chemistry’ here, and listen to the single, Silly Mehere

Listen to ‘Gerson’s Whistle’, featuring guest vocals from the legendary folk singer Suzzy Roche of The Roches, here.

Yeasayer are touring North America (with Young Magic as support), UK and Europe this May and June, including an intimate sold out show at Oslo in London on Friday 10June ahead of their performance on the main stage at Field Day. A full UK tour is soon to be announced for later in the year. Full dates below:

11 May: USA: Kingston, NY: BSP Kingston

12 May: USA: Portland, ME: Port City Music Hall

13 May: USA: Boston, MA: Paradise Rock Club

14 May: USA: New York, NY: Irving Plaza

16 May: USA: Washington, DC: 9:30 Club

17 May: USA: Philadelphia, PA: Union Transfer

19 May: USA: Asheville, NC: The Orange Peel

20 – 22 May: USA: Atlanta, GA: Shaky Beats Music Festival

21 May: USA: Nashville, TN: Exit/In

22 May: USA: Detroit, MI: The Majestic Theatre

23 May: USA: Chicago, IL: Lincoln Hall

24 May: USA: Minneapolis, MN: First Avenue

27 May: USA: George, WA: Sasquatch Music Festival

28 May: Canada: Vancouver, BC: Imperial Vancouver

29 May: USA: Portland, OR: Wonder Ballroom

31 May: USA: San Francisco, CA: The Fillmore Auditorium

1 June: USA: Los Angeles, CA: The Fonda Theatre

2 June: USA: San Diego, CA: The Observatory North

3 June: USA: Santa Ana, CA: The Observatory

5 June: USA: Dallas, TX: Bulladora Music Festival

10 June: UK: London: Oslo - SOLD OUT

11 June: UK: London: Field Day Festival in Victoria Park, Main Stage

12 June: Belgium: Gent: Handelsbeurs Concertzaal

14 June: Norway: Oslo: Parkteatret

15 June: Norway: Bergen: Bergenfest

17 – 19 June: Denmark: Aarhus: Northside Festival

17 – 19 June: Netherlands: Beekse Bergen, Best Kept Secret Festival

20 June: Switzerland: Lausanne: Les Docks

21 June: Italy: Marina Di Ravenna: Hana Bi

20 – 22 June: Croatia: Zagreb: INmusic Festival

24 June: Germany: Scheessel: Hurricane

25 June: Germany: Neuhausen: Southside

15 July: USA: North Lake Tahoe, CA: Wanderlust Festival

28 July: USA: Chicago, IL: Lollapalooza


Daughters Of Cain

I Am Chemistry

Silly Me

Half Asleep

Dead Sea Scrolls

Prophecy Gun

Computer Canticle 1

Divine Simulacrum

Child Prodigy

Gerson’s Whistle


Cold Night

Amen & Goodbye


“…a return to form” – Crack

“… brilliant weirdness” – The Guardian

“…pop music at its finest – slick, shiny, huge sounding and laden with hooks” – Loud & Quiet

 “ A brilliantly engaging and measured meander between order and chaos” – Gigwise

“Rhythmically kinetic and sonically hyperactive” – Drowned In Sound

“Yeasayer have again emerged from the chrysalis a beautiful, transformed butterfly” – Creators Project

“…one of a clutch of recent full-lengths that, while unrelated in sound, take the modern listening experience and reflect it back to the listener” – Idolator

“…a rippling, floating number driven by pattering bongos and an airy choir of backing singers” (on “Gerson’s Whistle”) – Stereogum

“shows the band really hasn’t slowed down, each new segment blending into the next flawlessly to create a nice, complex composition” – Noisey

“Brooklyn art-rockers return refreshed” –

 “…pop music at its finest – slick, shiny, huge sounding and laden with hooks” – Loud & Quiet

“…excellent…” – Uncut

Yeasayer are: Chris Keating, Ira Wolf Tuton and Anand Wilder

Amen & Goodbye will be available on CD (CDSTUMM387), Vinyl (STUMM387), Digital (iSTUMM387) and Limited Edition Vinyl (LSTUMM387) on 1 April 2016, and is available to pre-order now.

Pre-order links:

iTunes: Amazon:

Webstore: | |