Frank Carter And The Rattlesnakes

Frank Carter & The Rattlesnakes have announced their new album ‘Dark Rainbow’ for release on 26th January 2024.

The band are also sharing the album’s lead single “Man of the Hour”, which was given its airplay debut by Clara Amfo on her BBC Radio 1 Future Sounds show last night.

New single “Man of the Hour” makes it clear that we are entering into a whole new era for The Rattlesnakes. Self-evaluation and reflection are very much on the agenda throughout ‘Dark Rainbow, and they pave the way for a sound that puts southern gothic balladry and crooning alt-rock to the front. A sonic evolution and emotional complexity powers this soul-searching expedition that reaches into the very heart of identity and pulls from it the wisdom that can only come from lived experience. The lyrics to “Man of the Hour” question the idea of rock stardom and where it fits in 2023, recognising a character that we all could, to our own detriment, be or aspire to. Singer Frank Carter elaborates:

“We talk about how rock and roll will never die, but we never really talk about how maybe the idea of the rock star should die. The whole concept and what it means has always been this glamorised moment, but ultimately when I put that suit on, it didn’t go very well for me.”

“I’m just witnessing the world change so quickly and I’m still trying to come to terms with who I am and what the authentic version of me is. By giving people what I thought they wanted I think I got further and further away from who I actually am.”

Hear new single “Man of the Hour” on streaming services here and watch the video directed by Ruth Hunduma here.

Pre-order the new album ‘Dark Rainbow’ here.

The last time that many UK fans will have witnessed the band will have been at their sold-out Alexandra Palace show in London, or on the mainstages at Download and Reading & Leeds festivals, or headlining this summer’s 2000 Trees Festival. In the wake of ‘Dark Rainbow’’s release in January, the band will also be embarking on their biggest tour to date as they announce details of headline shows through the UK for 2024.

Fans can now pre-order the album for access to pre-sales.

All tickets will be on sale from Friday 6th October at 10am local time from the band’s website here.

Frank Carter & The Rattlesnakes UK Tour 2024

06 Feb – The Great Hall, Cardiff, UK
07 Feb – O2 Academy, Bristol, UK
09 Feb – Academy, Manchester, UK
10 Feb – Northumbria Uni Student’s Union, Newcastle, UK
11 Feb – Barrowland, Glasgow, UK
13 Feb – O2 Academy, Leeds, UK
14 Feb – Wulfrun Hall, Wolverhampton, UK
15 Feb – Roundhouse, London, UK
16 Feb – Roundhouse, London, UK

* * * *

Frank Carter & The Rattlesnakes’ new material arrives as their first since 2021 album ‘Sticky, the latest in a run of three consecutive UK Top 10 albums which also featured the BBC Radio 1 A-Listed single “Go Get A Tattoo“.

For a band who burned as bright as Frank Carter & The Rattlesnakes did when they exploded onto the UK punk scene in 2015, nobody could’ve imagined the band they’d become. Since the release of their firecracker first EP ‘Rotten, it’s been a bewildering eight years for Frank Carter and Dean Richardson. They’ve put out four killer albums, toured with Foo Fighters, headlined festivals, bagged three UK Top 10 albums, and featured Tom MorelloBobby Gillespie and Cassyette to guest on their tunes. Now on the cusp of releasing their fifth LP, ‘Dark Rainbow, the two old friends are taking stock. “Normally we don’t look backwards when making a record, but this has been looking to reach us for a long time,” Richardson explains. “Some songs are old ideas reworked, fresh eyes on something that didn’t quite fit on their other records.” Richardson remembers, “Some of these songs were lost along the way because basically we didn’t really give them the space.”

In contrast to their previous records – which were snapshots of the time and mindset in which they were made – ‘Dark Rainbow’ was born from self-reflection, memory and gratitude. “I’m just witnessing the world change so quickly and I’m still trying to come to terms with who I am and what the authentic version of me is,” Carter says. “By giving people what I thought they wanted I think I got further and further away from who I actually am, you know? So now, first and foremost, I’m prioritising what I need. Sobriety has been really, really helpful for me.”

The southern gothic balladry and crooning alt rock that they’ve experimented with on their previous releases is boldly up front on this record. There are a select few ragers on there too, for good measure. It’s not so much a new direction, but Carter and Richardson centering who they really are, mining their souls and unearthing the music that lives within them. “From the start, the ballads always came easy to us,” Richardson remembers. “But at no point did we question whether we should make more of them. Now we are.”

Carter explains that this is the most authentic album he’s ever made, and that came from them doing the work, and really getting to know themselves and each other. “We’ve lived a lot of life together,” Carter says.

Dark Rainbow’ is a bold exploration of who Frank Carter & The Rattlesnakes were, who they are and who they can someday be. There’s an undeniable strength in self-acceptance and in the search for your authentic spirit. That strength emanates from them and can be heard in droves on their new album. As they gear up for headline tours through the UK, EU, USA and AUS in early 2024 and the release of ‘Dark Rainbow’ in January, Carter and Richardson have never been more ready.

Frank Carter & The Rattlesnakes – ‘Dark Rainbow’ Tracklist

1. Money
2. Man of the Hour
3. Can I Take You Home
4. American Spirit
5. Happier Days
6. Brambles
7. Queen of Hearts
8. Sun Bright Golden Happening
9. Superstar
10. Self Love
11. A Dark Rainbow

‘Dark Rainbow’ album artwork by Ed Mason | Download hi-res image here




Website | Facebook | Instagram | TikTok | X | Youtube

Or please contact: